THE ORANGE SHOW FOUNDATION INVITES YOU TO

**!CELEBRATE!** 

## THE GRAND OPENING OF THE ORANGE SHOW September 25 & 26, 1982

SATURDAY 12 to 5

### SUNDAY 12 to 6

Magic, Music, & Mimes

Freshly-squeezed Orange Juice and Other Libations will be provided

Hot Dogs Courtesy of James Coney Island

In case of rain on Saturday, September 25, The Orange Show will be open from 11 A.M. to 8:00 P.M. on Sunday, September 26. In case of rain all weekend, the Grand Opening will be postponed until the weekend of October 3 & 4. The Orange Show, a kind of visionary fantastical miniature Disneyland, is considered by artists and historians to be one of the finest examples of true folk art in the U.S. It is the work of one man, Jeff McKissack, who for 26 years dedicated his life to the creation of this monument to the orange.

Constructed of concrete block masorry, with balconies, galleries, and an outdoor amphitheatre, it contains handmade metal sculpture, gates and wagon wheel railings as well as a whimsical maze, models and narrative exhibits all extolling the virtues of its creator's favorite fruit.

McKissack, who was 52 years old when he began his work, crated and trucked oranges through Florida, Georgia and Alabama in his early years. Later he settled in Houston and went to work for the Postal Service from which he retired to work fulltime on his dream. McKissack worked alone, with his own hands, and spent a quartercentury conceiving and constructing his private utopia, spelling out his personal philosophy of hard work and creating what he called a "health show." He believed that the orange was the perfect food and that it gave the body perfect energy, leaving no bad residues. His ideas on nutrition inspired him to write and publish a book, <u>How</u> You Can Live 100 Years—and Still Be Spry.

McKissack was a gentle man with sparkling blue eyes, full of imaginative ideas, brawny and tough from his daily physical labor. When he was not working on The Orange Show, his favorite pastime was dancing.

The Orange Show opened to the public on May 9, 1979, and McKissack himself conducted tours whenever there were visitors to the Show. He died in January, 1980 at age 77, having lived to see his monumental task complete.

In 1981, The Orange Show was purchased from McKissack's heir by twenty-two concerned citizens who wished to restore and preserve this folk-art masterplece for everyone to enjoy. The Orange Show Poundation, a nonprofit organization, was formed at that time, and undertook the necessary restoration of the Show, and now serves as its operator. The Foundation's goal is the preservation of The Orange Show, and its development as a major cultural resource for the City of Houston.

Design: Susan Boger Stem Courtesy of Stem Associates, Inc. Printed by Simon Printing & Stationery



1111



### CHARTER CONTRIBUTORS

"Mr. and Mrs. Louis K. Adler "Mr and Mrs E Rudge Allen The Anchorage Foundation of Texas Atlantic-Richfield Foundation Atlas Office Supply Mr. and Mrs. Les Ballard David Berg Dr. and Mrs. Jules Bohnn Builders Supply Co. Bute Paint Co. Butler, Binion, Rice Cook, and Knapp Craig and Sheffield, Inc. 'Nina Cullinan 'Dominique De Menil Mr. and Mrs. Carl Detering 'Carl Detering, Jr. Daniel Dror John H. Duncan Clinton Dunn For-All Mechanical, Inc. Billy Gibbons 'Miles Glaser Susan Glesby Gulf Southern National Bank

'Mr and Mrs I. H. Kempner, III Joseph Lomax Marilyn O. Lubetkin \*Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth C. Margolis Mayor, Day, and Caldwell McAshan Educational & Charitable Trust \*Mr. and Mrs. Sanford McCormick \*Max and Vicki Miller Barry Moore Mr. and Mrs. Harvin C. Moore Harvin C. Moore, Jr. \*Mr. and Mrs. Patrick Moore Oshman's Sporting Goods \*Leonard Rauch \*Andrew J. Rudnick Diane Rudy Mr. and Mrs. Fayez Sarofim \*Robert Sobel Spinoza, Inc. Stem Associates, Inc. Tillman-Trotter Foundation Mr. and Mrs. Wallace Wilson

\*Original Donors

#### **BENEFIT SPONSORS**

John Alexander/Paul Cooper Mr. and Mrs. Louis K. Adler Alexander Grant and Company Mr. and Mrs. E. Rudge Allen Mr. and Mrs. Robert H. Allen The Arts Symposium of Houston David Berg/Kenny Griffith Baldwin Gay Block David Booth Ermy Borlengh Mr. and Mrs. Giorgio Borlenghi Slade Brown Glenda Buchanan Mrs. Katherine Cullen Burton Mrs. Faith Bybee Mr. and Mrs. James C. Calaway Mr. and Mrs. Morton Cohn Andrew A. Crispin Mr. and Mrs. Roy H. Cullen D'Amico Ristorante Italiano Dominique De Menil Carl Detering, Jr. Mr. and Mrs. Carl Detering Mr. and Mrs. Sam P. Douglass Mr. and Mrs. Henri de Ybarrando Mr. and Mrs. Meyer Efron Mr. and Mrs. Jerry Finger Miles Glaser Gary Glesby/Susan Glesby

R. Wilson Gregory, Jr. Eve France Mr. and Mrs. Ford Hubbard, Jr. George O. Jackson Mr. and Mrs. Costa Kaldis Katie and Ben Kitchen Alvin N. Lubetkin Marilyn O. Lubetkin Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Margolis James H. Milford, Jr. Vicki and Max Miller George Murray Laurie S. O'Connell Fred Rhodes Browne B. Rice III Bob Robertson Chevrolet **Rogers Brothers Foundation** Marvin and David Rubenstein Properties Andrew J. Rudnick Diane Rudy Mr. and Mrs. Henry C. Schuhmacher Benjamin K. Smith Southwest Minerals Southwestern Bank Lee Stone Mr. and Mrs. Taft Symonds Mr. and Mrs. Stuart Williams Steve Wyatt ZZ TOD

Sponsor List Incomplete



# BENEFIT COMMITTEES

### Benefit Chairman Vicki Miller

A LOVI MILLOL

Special Coordinator Marilyn O. Lubetkin

Invitation Committee Sara Ann de Ybarrando, Chair Judy Breitenbach-Herzog Susan Downman Judy O. Margolis Helene Pfeffer

**Reservations** Pat Pfeffer, Chair

Magic, Music, & Mimes Kenny Baldwin, Chair

Publicity Mary Woodson, Chair Mark Davis Charles Maynard June Rives

### Food & Beverage Committee

James M. Moore, Co-Chair Mrs. Henry C. Schuhmacher, Co-Chair

Museum Restoration Committee

Betsy Knight, Co-Chair Margaret Prince, Co-Chair

Retail Advisory Committee Steve DeAngeles Fred Gerson Max Miller

### Ticket Committee

Kathy Bintz, Co-Chair Carl Detering, Jr., Co-Chair Nancy Allen Susan Alley Scott Atlas Bert Blume Bradford Broadfoot Michael Brown Glenda Buchanan Sam Callis Katy Campbell Bert Childs Mrs. Larry Claassen Danny Clayton Mrs. Leslie Cohen Nancy Craig Meg Daniels Jeff Deutsch Clinton Dunn Diana Fields Leslie Flint Stan Fortson Mike Frazier David and Ann Frischkorn

Bill and Lynn Guggolz Cliff Helmcamp Ford Hubbard, Jr. Mrs. Michael Irvin Jon Johansen Cathy Johnson Peter Johnston Mrs. Jack Lee Mrs. Sanford McCormick Melisa Miller Barry Moore Kit Newman Miss Lisa Proler Mrs. Lucille Robinson Andrew Rudnick Mrs. Andrew Schlenker David and Ann Schuette Randy and Kay Schuler Karen Susman Ann Symonds Terry Taylor Terry Vance Sissy Zimmerman