Lemmon's Petrified Wood ParkOle S. Quammen (1871 - 1934)
500 Main Ave, Lemmon, South Dakota, 57638, United States
Museum, Visitors Services, and Gift Shop are open during the summer months. The park itself is walkable year-round.
About the Artist/Site
The Petrified Wood Park in Lemmon, South Dakota was built under the direction of amateur geologist Ole S. Quammen. Construction began in the early 1930s, giving unemployed laborers a much-needed project. The tons of petrified wood and rocks hauled across South Dakota were shaped into a variety of sculptures and spires. The site proclaims itself as the largest petrified wood park and features a museum within one of the wooden buildings that boasts a collection of historical artifacts and antiques from Lemmon’s past. A key attraction within the park is the ‘Castle’; crafted out of petrified dinosaur and mammoth bones.
Ownership of the park was passed to the city in 1954, and maintenance in the 21st century has kept the Petrified Wood Park a popular attraction for Lemmon. The rock structures take up the length of a city block with certain sculptures towering over 20 feet and higher. While the museum and other building interiors are only open during the summer months, the park itself is accessible all year round.
~Nikki Ranney, 2023
- Michelle L. Dennis, "Petrified Wood Park", [Lemmon, South Dakota], SAH Archipedia, eds. Gabrielle Esperdy and Karen Kingsley, Charlottesville: UVaP, 2012—, http://sah-archipedia.org/buildings/SD-01-105-0097.
- Petrified Wood Park - SouthDakota.com
- Petrified Wood Park – Lemmon, South Dakota - Atlas Obscura
Petrified Wood, Petrified Bones, Rocks
Map & Site Information
500 Main Ave
Lemmon, South Dakota, 57638 us
Latitude/Longitude: 45.9397567 / -102.1587556
Regent, North Dakota
Turtle Lake, North Dakota
Chamberlain, South Dakota
Farmer, South Dakota
Montrose, South Dakota